1st person and immersion

This makes the first “Thinking” post on this blog, which means I’m likely setting the format for other Thinking-posts to go in. This first one will be about “1st person and immersion”, which is how you can make the game feel like something bigger in 1st view.

First thing first, the 1st-person view can be used in almost anything with a bit of thought, not just FPSes. There’s lots of stuff you can do in first person that hasn’t been tried, or that can be done better.
Let’s start with story-telling methods. I’ll divide these into cut-scenes (such as Metroid Prime or Halo uses) or player-redirection (like Half Life uses). There are uses for both of these, and they’re be better then the other in different situations. For example, if you want a long dialogue between the player’s character and another character, or want to show an impressive view of a scenery, the cut-scene might be to prefer. Sure, it pulls the player out of his role and separates it from it’s character, but unless you intend to make the player be the character, nothing is really lost. If used scarcely, the cut-scene can actually make the player feel like something very special is happening, and enjoy the break. That feeling is lost if cut-scenes are used to often for minor things, though. If you on the other hand want the player to feel he’s discovered something, having a short discussion or a change of phase in a boss-battle, you might want to redirect the player’s attention to where it’s needed. For example, if the boss is doing something unusual, that’s often enough to alert the player something has happened, you don’t need a cut-scene to tell that. Or a short, even if important, dialogue have the players attention in itself. It’s not really that interesting, unless your character talks a lot.

When it comes to interacting with objects, some games goes back to third person (Chronicles of Riddick), where you could have the same sequence in first-person, only that it makes the player unable to interact until the sequence is over. Take climbing a ladder or box – you don’t expect to be able to shoot at the same time, and not to fly up the ladder Half Life-style. Just keep the same animation you had and keep the view places inside the character’s head. Chronicles of Riddick is, apart from this thing, a very good example of how to use a character’s model to add to immersion. They already had the character, and just put the camara inside his head viewing towards his eyes. If we take the driving from Half Life 2, using the same method would have added to the game’s immersion. Not just because you would see your hands, but actually your whole body, with shadow, and perhaps being unable to turn 360 degrees while driving.

The character you play tend to be a blank paper, who has nothing to say and doesn’t feel a thing. And at the times it does speak, it feels very awkward. I believe this is because the character has no model, so it doesn’t do any body-gestures, which makes all speech a voice coming from nowhere which is just confusing. And when the character is supposed to feel, nothing seems to happen. Again, gestures – both very visible and discrete ones – from the player’s character can solve this, but also tears flooding up in the lower parts of the screen when the character should cry. If the character is wearing glasses, or a visor, Metroid Prime’s is, again, a good inspiration. Rain splashes on the visor, water falling down it when emerging from water, steam steams on it awhile after going through steam or going from a cold to a hot area and many other things I can’t remember happens to it, which adds yet another layer to feeling like being the character.

And, of course, mirrors. Unless there’s really good animation which makes a small step look like a small step and a run look like a run, avoid them. They’re great at spoiling the feeling of a natural character, as a small step to the right makes the character run off a whole step to the right and then stop. And it might give you a strange feeling to see your character for the first time. But if the animations are smooth enough and the player have a good idea of how it’s character look, perhaps a mirror would just add to the feeling of being the character?

4 Responses to 1st person and immersion

  1. tobbas says:

    Eeeh? Master Chief, Gordon Freeman, Samus(hade du nämnt), Crysis,Jackie, (the darkness), Ethan Thomas (condemned), Alla har modeller av sina karaktärer. Gordon Freeman pratar inte men vissa personer är stumma, har du något emot det?

    Att vissa spel inte har någon speciell modell för karaktären och varför de inte pratar är för att man själv ska leva sig in som karaktären.

  2. johannessmidelov says:

    Först och främst, kul att någon kommenterar! Jag känner inte igen din mejl-address, men en läsare är trots det en läsare. Och bara bra att du kritiserar det jag skriver – får mig att tvingas tänka efter och göra färre fel. Jag skulle gärna föredra om kommentarer sker på engelska, dock. Öppnar för fler kommentatörer på så sätt.

    Hur som helst, jovisst har några sina egna modeller, som Master Chief, vilket jag tycker är riktigt bra. Har inte spelat the Darkness eller Condemned, så där kan jag inte försvara mig. Ett annat exempel är Riddick, som också har sin egen modell. Men de är undantagsfall. Freeman har ingen, Samus har ingen heller, även om de gjort ett bra jobb med effekter för att få en att tro det (om du påstår att “de har ju händer”, så är det en del av vapnet, ingen karaktärsmodell). De båda flyter fram i luften. Att vissa personer, främst från dagarna innan talet i spelen kom, finner jag helt okej att vara tysta, likväl för Freeman, eftersom detta är en såpass etablerad del i deras (icke-)personer.

    Jag kan den rådande tanken om stumheten och icke-modellerna, men jag håller inte med den. Själv rycks jag ur karaktären varje gång jag ser en skugga men inga ben under mina fötter, ingen skugga när solen står bakom mig eller när mina medmänniskor går långa omvägar för att få mig att slippa prata. Jag vill välja vad jag skall säga, och få reaktioner på det (tror inte jag tagit upp det ämnet, kan vara något för senare).
    Och varför måste huvudpersonen alls vara ett fönster mellan spelaren och världen, istället för ett ankare? För vill vi vara en huvudperson utan manus eller ha en huvudperson som handlingen kretsar kring?

  3. tobbas says:

    Nej jag pratade inte om händer, Gordon Freeman har visst en modell, du kan blandannat se den i Half life: Blue Shift när han blir ivägdragen av 2 soldiers och i Half life: Deathmatch om jag inte minns fel.

    Samus har också en modell:

    Sen när man morphar in och ut från Morphball så ser man också samus modell, samt alla 2d spel ser man modellen hela tiden. Har du spelet spelen eller har du helt glömt bort det?

    Bara för att de inte har ben så betyder det inte att de inte har en modell.

    Visst kan jag skriva på Engelska för vidare kommentarer.

  4. johannessmidelov says:

    Jag tror vi talar förbi varandra. Vad jag talar om är en modell av karaktären du ser medan du spelar. Jovisst ser man Samus när man växlar mellan 3e och 1a person, men den modellen försvinner så snart du börjar spela vidare i första person.
    Just Half Life 1, eller något av dess stickspår, har jag personligen inte spelat, även om jag hört i en diskussion på ämnet härromdagen att du kan se honom i tredjeperson med någon form av robot. Men jag har spelat tillräckligt mycket för att se att du kan titta mot marken utan att se din karaktär, och att man inte har några skuggor. Och det är det jag talar om.

    Som sagt, det är kul att du kommenterar. Gör att jag måste precisera vad jag menar och tänka efter mer. Och, tja, jag kan översätta de kommentarer vi redan skrivit, men jag skulle föredra att ha kommande kommentarer på Engelska.

Leave a Reply

